OSH Management System

You are here - WorkSafe Plan Audit
OSH Policy 

WorkSafe Plan Audit

The WorkSafe Plan is an assessment process that rates safety and health management systems and directs attention to areas that could be improved. The WorkSafe Plan is not intended to prescribe how to manage safety and health, but to provide a systematic way of measuring how well it is being managed. The WorkSafe Plan is suitable for organisations of all sizes and can be used to:

· provide information on desirable safety and health management practices;

· identify strengths and weaknesses in safety and health management systems;

· provide a measure for safety and health performance;

· implement a cycle of continuous improvement;

· compare performance with organisations in the same industry; and

· gain recognition for standards achieved in management of the organisation’s safety and health systems.


Identifying hazards, assessing risks, implementing risk controls and monitoring/review of controls form the basis of safety and health management programs. Safety and health management also requires a demonstrated commitment by senior people in an organisation to set objectives, oversee planning and implementation, consider feedback and continuously improve the safety and health management system.


Safety and health management is not isolated from the way an organisation conducts its day to day activities. Safety and health issues can affect purchasing of goods and services, recruitment and induction of staff, internal communications, equipment maintenance and records management. It is preferable that safety and health management systems are integrated with other functions, such as quality and environmental management, as a properly developed system that seeks to get safety and health into the mainstream activities of the organisation.


The WorkSafe Plan is not meant to replace other safety management system audit tools but is complementary to them which provide opportunities for joint certification for the following Occupational Health and Safety Management System certification standards:

· AS/NZS 4801:2001

· National Self Insurer OHS Audit Tool (NAT)

· OHSAS 18001:2007

· SafetyMAP

The WorkSafe Plan has five elements and each one has a standard that describes the performance expected for that element. The five elements are:

· Management commitment;

· Planning;

· Consultation and reporting;

· Hazard management; and

· Training and supervision.


Each element has a number of indicators that are used to measure the extent to which the standards have been achieved.

WorkSafe Plan Audit Tool
Download here

Site powered and maintained by